Zombies are PERIOD!

I know, I know.  How can something like a zombie be period?  Actually, the whole zombie thing is older than literature itself but check this out…

In Medieval times, this was referred to as Revenant, a visible ghost or animated corpse that terrorized the living.  I guess it all started in the High Middle Ages (11th-13th centuries).  It’s a Western European thing, but I guess was huge in Great Britain and was later carried over to Ireland by the Anglo-Norman invaders.

Kick ass.

It is said that Ishtar, the Goddess of fertility, love, war and sex (interestingly enough, she was courtesan to the Gods) says (and so does her sister Ereshkigal who was the goddess of the underworld):

I shall raise up the dead and they shall eat the living.
I shall make the dead outnumber the living.

The whole holy water, cutting off the head thing comes from the High Middle Ages too.  From what I’m reading, there seems to be a main difference between the stories of yore and today’s pop cultured zombies…The zombies of yore were always known to people.  It was always someone freshly dead, and not an anonymous reanimated corpse bent on eating the brains of villagers.

Side note:  I forget which movie it was, but a zombie spoof…originally, zombie’s didn’t just eat brains.  They were cannibalistic without any preference.  “Grrrr…pass the gluteus maximus…grrrr”

I wonder if I could do some kind of A&S project on old school zombies.  That would be fun.  Hmm…I’ll have to see what needs to be done for it to count as an actual project.  Otherwise, I’m just a nerd writing about zombies for no particular reason.

 

…Not one word.  Not one.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cortejo
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 01:44:56

    look, if you can document Zombie walks I bet we can make the next camping event really weird.

    Reply

  2. vongaynip
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 02:09:57

    Hmmm…I’ll see what I can find!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

