Return of Gaynip

So it has been brought to my attention that I’ve been more like “Nerdnip” (I’m fine with that) but in order to regain my status as “Gaynip” here goes:

erin

Bite Me! Seriously.

DanielsErin

Yum!

I’m not sure what it with me and girls named Erin.  They’re like my kryptonite or something, I’m sure of it.  I’d let her bite me anytime!  <cough>  Anyway, Dana Fairbanks was my favourite character on “The L Word” and I was super pissed when they killed her off.  Hello, most relate-able character on the damn show.  She played an in the closet tennis star who had some serious issues with being gay, being out and with her parents views on it.  It’s kind of funny really, because I wasn’t out when I watched the first 5 seasons of the show and I had this serious crush on Erin Daniels.  Now if that ain’t gay, I don’t know what is.

Last night my step mom uploaded a picture of my Dad in his veterans jacket, pinned with his medals and a poppy.  I commented that his tie looked a little tight, like it might be choking the life out of him.  The knot was super small and pulled all the way up.  The response I got was “Well, it’s not.  You’d have to know something about tying ties.”  Um.  Yeah.  About that.  I wear more ties than Dad does, and not clip on ones or tacky ones with a sports team logo either.  This went over like a lead balloon.  I guess this is too gay even for the step mom, who seems fairly alright with my openness about the whole thing.  I think my parents still cling to a flimsy hope that this is just a phase and I will come to my senses and marry a man and have babies.  [Insert never-going-to-happen cliche here]

Speaking of gayness and family.  My sister informed me as of Monday I’m not Christian because I’m gay.  Well.  Ain’t that a kick in the ass with a frozen boot?  I suppose it would be futile to point out that judging others isn’t very Christian.  So, she has blocked me from her Facebook and MSN.  I’m not that upset about it, except that I do love my nephew.  Family.  Love them all, but do I like them all?  Not a chance.

What else?  Oh!  Just to be extra gay today I’m wearing a hot pink skinny tie, hot pink suspenders (that are hanging down instead of strapped on) and a black wristband with a hot pink skull and crossbones.  Smelly Man is horrified.  I’m horrified that the station smells like BO and vanilla today.  Leh must have got a little over zealous with the spritzer.  Not that I blame her.

Talking to this cute girl but she’s from Blanc Sablon.  Do you know where that is?  No?  To get here, you’d need to take 2 ferries, a few toll highways and it a day and 9 hours to get here if you were to drive.  Even if you were to fly, she’d have to ferry to NFLD and then fly out.  Jesus, and I thought the fact that I liked girls who lived in the West End of the city was bad enough.  Now I’m attracting ones who live literally in the middle of nowhere.  She doesn’t even like it there.  Man, I thought it was hard being gay in this small town.  I can only imagine what it’s like there.  Poor thing.

Radio Boy has spent the entire morning rhapsodizing about his secret lovair and how much sex they are going to have when said lovair comes home for a visit.  Some things I don’t mind him gushing about, other things I could live without knowing.  Gay boys.  Gotta love them.

In non-gay news…the sore throat persists.  Other than that, knock on wood, no symptoms to speak of except maybe a persistent but not nagging tiredness.  I know I’m always tired (not so much lately, come to think of it) but this is a different kind of tired.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhi
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 10:59:47

    Jesus. I am so sorry with the way that your family is reacting. The only thing I can say is that perhaps, with time, they’ll come around to at least a partial acceptance. And maybe your sister will come to her senses.

    Reply

  2. vongaynip
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 12:41:35

    Thanks sweetie. It didn’t go over as bad as I’d envisioned it to, but they’re still not where I’d like them to be. Ideally, I’d love for them to think nothing of it. Realistically? Partial acceptance. It’s only been a few months since I told them. It’ll happen.

    As for my sister, she will, eventually. I’ll let her cool off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

