I Must Become a Lion Hearted Girl

I’m going to be just fine.

Yesterday, after the adrenaline of telling my parents where to go wore off, my stomach was all tied up in slippery, greasy knots.  The whole experience was intense and cathartic.  I feel much better getting that off my chest.  My parents have a tendency to punish me in deafening silence whenever I’ve disappointed them in some way.

I love how animals are so intuitive when it comes to the feelings of their caregivers.  Meeko was on me like white on rice as soon as I walked in the front door.  He purr-cried at me and when I sat down at my desk, stood on my shoulders and bumped heads.  He wasn’t satisfied with any response I gave him until he was in my lap knocking his head into my chin and purring like an engine.  Even Pickles, who isn’t an affectionate creature by nature wove between my legs and cried for some affection.  It’s true, that pets help lower stress.

I got a Christmas card from Brandy, Craig and the boys, it was waiting for me in the mailbox and timed just right.  There was a picture inside of Dakin, Corbin and Tysin dressed in red shirts, stripped scarves and top hats…they’ve grown so much since I’ve been gone.  They each signed their names and Brandy says they were excited to send the card off.  Children can be such a blessing.

Work today…got a few little things to do, I’m grateful for the distraction.   Office Mom and I can talk about “Dexter” and how effed up someone else’s life is.  I thought I had crazy family members!  I think it’s odd I don’t like Rita for kissing the neighbour back but Dexter is a liar-liar-pants on fire serial killer.  Weird.

I’ve got these lyrics stuck in my head this morning,

Here I am, a rabbit hearted girl
Frozen in the headlights
It seems I’ve made the final sacrifice

We raise it up, this offering
We raise it up

This is a gift, it comes with a price
Who is the lamb and who is the knife?
Midas is king and he holds me so tight
And turns me to gold in the sunlight

I look around, but I can’t find you (raise it up)
If only I could see your face (raise it up)
Instead of rushing towards the skyline (raise it up)
I wish that I could just be brave

I must become a lion hearted girl
Ready for a fight
Before I make the final sacrifice

-Florence & The Machine “Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)”

Oh oh oh…this was in my prep for work this morning.  I can’t use it on the air, because of the format (I need to go work for Proud…haha) but:

Meredith Baxter, the actress who played Elyse Keaton on the ‘80s TV series “Family Ties,” has revealed that she is a lesbian.  The 62-year-old actress says that she had a “later-in-life recognition” and has been in a relationship with her girlfriend, a general contractor, for four years.  Baxter has been married three times and is the mother of five children.  She said in an interview on the “Today” show yesterday that she is “extraordinarily happy.”

Elyse Keaton

Welcome to the dark side, Meredith…we have cookies!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention I Must Become a Lion Hearted Girl « Vongaynip's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

