Around the Whirl

“I’m back from my world-wind tour!”

“Jack, it’s a ‘whirlwind’ tour.”

“Uh, did I travel around the ‘whirl’?”

What a whirlwind couple of days it’s been.  Thursday was an all work day…the fates are probably punishing me for lamenting about my job considering how little stress it affords me.  I worked from 5:30ish to about 11 and clomped home in the frigged winds to have a quick shower and a bite to eat.  Leh picked me up (late) at 1pm and we were off to Alight at Night.  She was in a bit of a mood, so I napped a bit on the way in as I was drained.  We got there and got the grand tour of Upper Canada Village with the lights starting to twinkle in the dusk-light.  I was pretty excited.

Once the sunset (it really doesn’t take long now) everything was sparkling and waving in the wind with 250,000 lights aglow.  Crysler Hall, a mans from the 1860’s (and one of the only modernized homes) was where we were stationed (inside).  They had the Sight and Sound Spectacular, where every half hour the lights would dance to the beat of Christmas songs.  Inside the hall, they had the display of Gingerbread homes from the big contest.  Amazing what people can do with some icing, dough and a little creativity.

It was fairly quiet in the hall for the first part of the night, and so Leh and I chatted with a girl our age named Martina who was working for the Festival.  Nice girl.  Cute.  Around the end of the night this lady EMT comes in and whispers something to Martina and I caught part of it (even with all the old people and kids chatting and milling around us).  I call out, “You know you can come talk to us right?  We won’t bite!”  This caught her off guard a little and she calls back, “I’ll be over there, don’t you worry.”

All I can say is, “Gaynip strikes again.” as she came over and chatted me up for the rest of the remote and Leh ended up packing the gear alone.  Not my type at all but I really thought she was a cool person and had done some interesting stuff.  We gave her a movie and a CD from our prize box (this might have been an encouragement).  Turns out her allergies are weirder than mine!  Did you know they put soy in candy canes?  It’s true.  Leh spent a good bit of the trip back making fun of me, but not too hard because this grizzled old security guard was chatting her up.  We didn’t get home until 9:30 (after a brief pit stop at Burger King because Leh hadn’t eaten all day…) and I wound up in a bubble bath reading Edgar Allen Poe.  I was too tired to be in there long and was in bed by 10.

Friday was killer.  I was completely exhausted.  I rushed to finish a bunch of jobs that didn’t get done.  I forgot all about NARL.  Ooops.  I misheard something Office Mom said (I thought she threatened to yell at me) and I wisecracked back “Haven’t you made enough people cry today?” as she had just made her kid cry not 20 minutes before.  As soon as I said it, I felt completely bad.  I didn’t mean to be hurtful, and she wasn’t actually upset but she gawked a bit when I said it.  I get a little…bitchy when I’m beat.  Dutchess shouted, “For the love of God, drink a coffee!!  DO IT!”

I had to go back to work as the Olympic Torch was passing through our sleepy little town.  I know not a lot of people are fans of the Olympics, and there are plenty of reasons to not support them…but…I love them just the same.  Not the summer ones, we suck at summer sports.  Winter sports is where we are kings.  I love to watch curling (I love to do it too but it’s been almost 2 years now) and the skiing stuff as well.  It amazes me how people can be so fearless and so graceful all at the same time.

So, we watched it run by and like a completely patriotic sissy that I am, I got misty eyed.  So did Leh, and she’s a robot (so she says).  We fought with traffic to go the park and take part in the celebrations.  We even got a little swag while we where there…and some photo ops

Torch Bearers

How cool is that?  We didn’t stay too long though, as it was -17 with the wind and Leh didn’t have gloves.  Not that they helped because even mine didn’t do the wind justice.

Another Bearer

I spent most of yesterday sleeping when I wasn’t working.  I think I was completely run down, and I try to listen to my body when it tells me it needs sleep.  Otherwise, you do things like fall asleep while driving.

Work work work today.  Wasn’t too bad, I had a lot of fun with the girls.  It stopped being fun when my feet hit the blacktop as we arrived at the station.  The door was swinging open and The Sizzle was shouting.

“You’re late.  Don’t turn the truck off!  I’m taking it.”

“Uh no, Leh is giving me a lift home.”

“Well then hurry the hell up.”

As I walked into the station, he started to freak out, becoming more and more agitated.  Chantal was still outside collecting her baskets from the truck as I was heading to the prod studio.

“You’re late.  Leh said 3pm.  You’re late.  I was supposed to leave at 3.  You’re LATE!”

“I’m not late.  I wasn’t driving, I was with the group.”

“Where the HELL is she?”

“She’s coming in the billboard truck.  Relax.  Stop yelling.”

“Oh.  Fine.  Relax.  Fine.  I’m not yelling.”

Chantal could actually hear him yelling at me from the parking lot.  With the door closed.  Leh came in and he was in her face as she strode through the door.  She was holding her own, but as soon as she swore in French he lost it.

“Don’t swear!  You screwed up.  Don’t swear at me.”

Thing was, she didn’t swear AT him she just swore.  His tirade continued until I had to shout above the din

“Can you stop yelling?”

He glares at me and keeps on about 3pm, his event, professional courtesy, etc.  No one called, we shut the company cell phone off (and put it in the metal briefcase where it goes).  He had my number, and didn’t call.  He rounded on me,

“So you shut the other one off?  Why?  It’s meant to be used.”

“For remotes.  That’s it.”

“So, what?  Your phone dead too?”

“I didn’t know we promised you anything.  You had my number, I gave it to you this morning.  It’s on the staff list.  You could have called.”

The swearing and shouting continued.

“Do you want a ride home or not?”

Leh shouts, “Obviously not with you, not after this!”

I add, “Wow, nice people skills there Miki.  We were late, the world isn’t ending.  You don’t need to scream at everyone.”

This really got his goat and he stormed out.  I ended up having to call The Boss.  Poor guy.

On a more positive note, I ran into The Lesbians I know in this town.  They’re engaged!  Wassail!  I’m so happy for them.  I am pretty sure I’ll be helping them out tomorrow as they are doing a huge dinner for the less fortunate.  Most years they do one sitting of 300 people but this year with the hard times they are doing two sittings and expecting 500.  I need something worthwhile to fill up some of my free time.

Tonight, I’m going to relax and soak in the tub and then watch Zombieland!

Leave a Reply

