Eye Candy Friday: Musicians

Good morning kids and kittens!  Time for another edition of Eye Candy Friday…dedicated to the songstress.  We’ve had a few on the blog already, but why not a whole day just for them?

Sarah McLachlan

Canadian singer/song writer Sarah McLachlan…hers was one of the first CD’s I ever owned, “Rarities, B-Sides & Other Stuff”.  It was great to listen to when I was in one of those “tortured teenager” moods.  I know, hard to imagine that I have ever had an emo moment, but it’s true.  My favourite thing ever is people who think her song “Angel” is about God.  FAIL.  As explained on VH1 Storytellers the song is about The Smashing Pumpkins touring keyboard player Jonathan Melvoin, who overdosed on heroin and died in 1996. McLachlan explained that there’s nothing constant when you are on the road; everything becomes the same.

Beyonce

Damn strategically placed sparkly flower things.  Best.  Tanktop.  Ever.  Her music isn’t bad either.

Jessica and Lisa Origliasso

The Veronica’s.  1 word:  Twins.  (Twins with Australian accents.)

Sarah Brightman

I really like Sarah Brightman’s music.  Sometimes I’m in the mood for something a little different.  I enjoy “Fleur des Mal”, “Running” and her version of “Nessum Dorma”.  The first time I heard her sing the last one, it brought tears to my eyes.  It’s an incredibly sad song, and she sings it so beautifully.  Sarah also does some contemporary music we play here at work and it’s excellent.  I recommend giving her stuff a listen.

Kylie Minogue

Little Red Riding Hood…no wonder the wolf wanted to eat her.  If all fairy tale women pranced around like this…I think more people would be interested in reading.  Plus, she’s a total cougar.  My weakness.

Hailey Williams

Fell in love with Hailey via her band Paramore and their  album “Riot!” but I have to say my favourite song of theirs is off their latest album…the tune is called “Brick By Boring Brick”.  Check out these lyrics:

So one day, he found her crying
Coiled up on the dirty ground
Her prince finally came to save her
And the rest you can figure out
But it was a trick
And the clock struck twelve, well make sure
To build your house brick by boring brick
Or the wolf’s gonna blow it down

Keep your feet on the ground…
When your head’s in the clouds…

Well go get your shovel
And we’ll dig a deep hole
To bury the castle, bury the castle
Go get your shovel
And we’ll dig a deep hole
We’ll bury the castle, bury the castle

Hilary Duff

Yes.  Hilary Duff.  Screw you, she’s hot.  Are you telling me if Hilary Duff knocked on your door because her tour bus broke down and wanted to use the phone…naked…you wouldn’t hit that?  Liar!  She’s hot and you know it.  Oh, and I like her new song “Holiday” from her “Best of” album.  It’s not a Christmas song, but a breakup/I miss you tune.  The remix is even better.

Melanie C

Your eyes aren’t deceiving you.  That is Sporty Spice.  Let me explain this one…

Once upon a time, there was a very confused 15 year old girl, who didn’t know she was gay.  She thought thinking other girls were good looking was perfectly normal.  She had a pretty big crush on Mel C from the Spice Girls.

Guess what kids?  That girl, in that story…that was me.  I know, it’s hard to believe I was ever confused about my love of girls.  She was my very first girl crush.  When I think about it now, it was big big sign that I was as gay as a purse full of kittens.  I still think she’s hot, too.  She’s covered in tattoo’s, she’s got an accent, she has talent and she’s the smartest one out of the bunch.

Leave a Reply

