Vacation: Day 1

Day 1 of my vacation was off to a very chilly start.  -23 with the wind this morning, that’s how chilly and it didn’t get any warmer as the day progressed.  Everyone in the apartment (read: me, the cats) seem to be feeling a bit like hibernating bears.  Except that this bear did 100 push-ups and 30 sit-ups.  I’m contemplating doing more sit-ups, but if I don’t do another 20, I won’t be heartbroken.

I got a fair bit done considering the below freezing temperature.  I was up at 6am and watched “The Hangover”.  Meh.  It wasn’t as funny as I had anticipated.  Stupid movie trailers ruining all the best parts.  I think the song Stu sings about Doug was hilarious.  Click here to watch the song (with clips from the movie) here.  Even watching that clip, to be honest, isn’t that funny over 12 hours later.  I’ve got a copy of “Inglorious Basterds” for tonight.  Here’s hoping that fares better.  If not, Chantal lent me Season 1 of “The Muppet Show”.

I got a new book!  New to me, anyway.  A copy of “Tipping the Velvet” by Sarah Waters.  I’d read this via PDF months ago on my cellphone, much to the detriment of my eyes.  I’m pretty sure some of it got befuddled as it formated for my wee cellphone screen.  I’ve seen the BBC adaptation with Keely Hawes (yum) and thought “I don’t remember that happening in that sequence”.  It could be the adaptation, but generally the BBC keeps close to the original storyline.  If you’ve never heard of it, it’s actually gay literature.  I got it in a PDF packet with a bunch of other gay lit when I came out.  I’m half tempted to send my parents a copy of the PDF on what to do when your child announces he/she is gay.  It’s tempting.

A majority of my day was spent writing my 101 in 1001 list.  It’s 101 goals you set for yourself that need to be completed in 1001 days.  I’ll be posting that up on January 1st and my end date is set for September 27, 2012.  I’ve got a good mix of things in there…it’s serious, it’s silly, it’s me.  Some of them are going to be really hard, and one of them might be impossible.  Not impossible, but might be unrealistic for me.  We’ll see.  I have 2.7 years to think it over and get it done.  I noticed a lot of people are sorting them into categories.  I may do this tomorrow, and that way I’ll have a chance to re-evaluate anything I’ve listed.  Here’s just a taste of what’s on the list:

  • Give up caffeine (liquid form) for an entire month.
  • Make 3 new lasting friendships.
  • Kiss in the rain.  (This seems rather easy, but I’ve been kissing since I was 12-13 and still haven’t done it…)

You know what’s super hard?  Trying to read 4 books at once.  I’ve got my Encyclopedia, my Mercedes Lackey/James Mallory “bathtub” book, “Tipping the Velvet” (I haven’t started it but I’ve been skimming) and I’ve got a PDF on the go of “The Ethical Slut” as well.  Not to mention I just got a whole bunch of PDF files to go through before February.  I wish I could win the lottery so I could quit my job and read all day.

Meeko is in my lap as I try to blog tonight…this is where blogging at work comes in handy.  There isn’t a furry little attention whore in your lap demanding attention.  He’s terribly cute though, rubbing his head under my chin and giving me love bites if I don’t pet him often enough.  Ever since I got home yesterday the two of them have been real sooks.

Meeko

His head looks like the size of a planetoid in this shot, but it’s the shadow behind him (caused by the flash).  He’s got that “How you doin’…” way about him, doesn’t he?  Right now he’s sprawled out on his back in my lap, getting cranky because I won’t stop tickling his feet.

Paw Print

This is one of two.  I’d post the shot of both (on one leg) but it looks like I’m not wearing shorts (I am, but they’re hiked up).  Pickles, when she sits in my lap for a brushing or a petting, gets so into it she presses down with her paws super hard.  She also drools.  No drool this time, but she marked me up.  She’s got massive paws for a cat.

Looks like plans are evolving for New Years Eve.  No bars, no clubs, no long line-ups.  Leh and I are going to head to the city and hang with Red & The Welshman (who are some of my favourite people ever!) for games and drinks.  Breakfast menu to include pancakes.  Mmm pancakes.

Stephanie (The Rachel’s old roommate) lost her Grandmother on Christmas Eve.  Tomorrow is the wake, which I won’t be going to, but The Rachel & may take Stephanie for a drink afterwards.  That in itself is a big deal, since Steph hasn’t had a drink in 10 years (besides the beer she had Christmas Eve) due to her MS meds.  I really like Stephanie, and know that family is a very big deal.

I’m hoping to do a year in review either tomorrow or Thursday on the blog.  I was going to do some lists as well…(I do so enjoy them).  We’ll see how that goes.

All in all, I feel like I didn’t do a whole lot today but didn’t squander it either.  It’s a vacation.  I’ll do what I do, see who I see and sleep when I feel like.

Side note:  I hurt from the various form of ‘ups I did today.  Tomorrow may not yield as many.

Leave a Reply

