A Jumble of Thoughts

It’s February and I should be allergen free or pretty damn close to it.  Yet, for the last little while I’ve had eczema on my eyelid (sexy, yeah?) and today I’ve got a sinus headache and what looks to be a black eye.  Not cool.  Not cool at all.

What is cool is that I’m interviewing Brent Butt (of “Corner Gas” fame) this afternoon about his upcoming show called “Hiccups” starring his wife Nancy Robertson (played Wanda on CG).  She’s a children’s author who has some anger management problems.  She hires a life coach (Butt) to help her with these “hiccups”.  Brent is in the city tomorrow night doing a standup show.  I was hoping to score some tickets, but alas the sales rep who lined up the event snagged them for herself.  Bah.

After I wrap that this afternoon…I know I had to go and do something but I can’t recall what.  I might go to the store and pick up stuff to make granola.  I haven’t done that yet.  Then I’m going to sit my ass down and work on my Practicum stuff.  Since D isn’t sure if she’s going to be there, I have to find a way to make it entertaining again.  Maybe with the vampire section where the skit was going to go, I’ll put in a game instead.  I don’t know.  I better get crackalackin’.

It’s going to bug me…a lot.  What the hell was I supposed to do?  <sarcasm>  Clearly it wasn’t that important or I would have written it down on my Google Calendar.  Or in my phone.  Or on the calendar in the kitchen.  </sarcasm>

“I don’t care, no I wouldn’t dare to fix the twist in you” (Sick Puppies – All the Same)…

On my mind this morning is of a relationship-ish note.  Not just romantic/intimate relationships either.  I can’t say that  I haven’t been guilty of at least thinking or wishing certain people would change.  My parents, for instance.  I would love for them to be more open minded and accepting.  But I’ve come to realize that it may never happen, and I have to live with that fact.  It’s just the way they are, and their homophobic views are ingrained and part of their core values.  If change happens, I may be the catalyst of the change, but they must be the ones to react to that.

I heard a man say not too long ago that he was changing his girlfriend into the woman he wanted her to be.  I was, to be frank, appalled by such a statement.  Why would you want to change your lover?  Especially in such a way that would make her completely different (or attempt to).  What’s the point of being with someone if you don’t like their core values?  And if it’s not a core value you wish to change, but something small (“She chews her nails”/”He picks his toes”) if it bothers you that much, maybe you need to work on you.  If it’s a bigger “flaw” (cheating/lying/stealing/racist/etc) then you have to decide if you can deal with it.  If you can’t, it won’t work.  You can’t change people.  I read somewhere that people don’t make big changes to their personalities (as a general rule) but make small changes to who they are.  Changing someone won’t work.  You might say to yourself, “Ha!  My spouse changed X about themselves for me.” but I wonder, if you weren’t around, would they continue?  And then of course, there are exceptions to every rule.  I’ve always believed that little quote (that I can’t find or remember verbatim this morning) about loving someone flaws and all.

I have lots.  Some are tiny and some are big.  I’m working on them.  One of mine used to be that I couldn’t stand it when someone used a word incorrectly or mispronounced it.  It would drive me batty and letting it continue unchecked seemed wrong.  I don’t do it anymore, unless I think it’s going to matter (a speech, a newscast, an on-air break, etc).  I figure, the day I can say to someone, “I want you to change this aspect of your personality” I better be fucking perfect.  (There’s one of my flaws…I swear.  A lot.  A lot.)

Maybe I’m weird. Scratch that.  I am weird.

The headache ninja continues it’s stealth attack on my brains.

Leave a Reply

