Joining the Army

There seems to be some kind of misunderstanding about why I did not join the military, so I’m going to clarify this.

I felt that my reasons for joining were  not the best ones.  I was being motivated by money in order to buy things I don’t need but rather things that I want.  To be clear, if a person wants to work a job they hate or dislike because it pays more, I am not (nor have I ever) passing judgment on that choice (meanwhile, I have been judged harshly for not taking a higher paying job several times now, in a very condescending manner).  I felt that it wasn’t within me to do something I completely hate, that is not fun, that isn’t creative for more money.  I felt that I was being materialistic in my pursuit of happiness.  MY PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS.

Another point, I don’t want to be an office worker.  In a uniform.  Do I have anything against secretaries, clerks or the like?  No.  I just don’t think I’d enjoy it.  I love typing stuff up, taking notes, making spreadsheets and power point documents.  I got a new program to make things into PDF files and it’s like a new toy.  I want to make all kinds of stuff into a PDF.  I just don’t want to do it for a living.  Yes, I said I would feel like a drone.  Me.  Not to imply that anyone who wished to do this job in any capacity was a drone, but that I would feel like one sitting in an office, in a uniform, all day.  That doesn’t mean it isn’t the right job for someone else who loves filing, word processing and putting their organizational skills to good use.  We need people like that.  Who get a thrill out of it.  They exist.  I am one of them, just not in a work-capacity.

There is also some kind of confusion about my views on the military.  I am and always have been a supporter of the Canadian troops.  I may not always agree with what they are asked to do, but to be fair, there are scads of military personnel who don’t either.  But they do it, and in some cases risk their lives to do so.  My father spent 21 years in the military.  My brother in-law was Soldier of the Year for New England a few years ago and was also awarded the purple heart.  My grandfather was in The Black Watch a long, long time ago.  My great-uncle died in WWII as a pilot.  There are even family members on my mother’s side that served as well (although that’s less talked about for obvious reasons).  I have grown up surrounded by the military.  I owe my education, the food that filled my stomach and the clothes on my back to it.  I have nothing but respect for anyone who does the job.  It has given me a good foundation for my life.  I understand what hard work is.  What sacrifice is.  What bravery is.  What it means to be free.

The idea that anyone would accuse me of looking down a soldier blows my mind.  If that somehow got confused in my early morning blog ramblings, I  am sorry for that.  I would never disparage anyone who is willing to die so I can continue to live free.  I commend anyone who wants to join the military.  I truly do.

And to be clear, just because I think I’m being materialistic doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop wanting things.  But there is a difference between want and need.  Do I need silver plated D&D dice?  No.  Does that mean I begrudge anyone who buys them?  No.  My life is very comfortable, and I’m not against improving it at all.  I want to, but I want to do it the way I planned.  I have to stop running away from things when they get tough.  I need to pull up my socks and push for a change.  My way.

What I do have issue with is being punished for my choices.  Or the words that I say.  My opinions are just that:  my own.  If you don’t agree, that’s your prerogative.  But don’t read my blog.  Don’t start conversations about it.  Don’t give false impressions of me.  Don’t put words in my mouth.  I don’t have the energy to deal with it anymore.

And that’s all I’m going to say about it.

Leave a Reply

