Gaynip the Crafter?

Hoo boy what a day, what a day I had…yesterday.  Started off on a bad note, but ended on a positive one.  A positively drunk one.  I am pretty lucky to have a group of magnificent friends to rally around me when I’m going through such a difficult time.  I feel very loved and supported.  I have decided that I’m going to keep on keeping on.

The Rachel left her clothes at my house, I found them as I was crawling into bed.  I am relaying this story at work to Office Mom and she exclaims, “What were her clothes doing in your bed?  How drunk did you get?  What went on?!  I don’t want to know!!”  But they were her fancy work clothes, not all that comfortable…so being a good hostess I lent her yoga pants (which she had given to me) and a t-shirt to relax in while she was getting her drink on.  Drinking is like a sport, at least it is for Rachel, so you need to wear the proper attire.

The last couple of days I’ve had an itch to do some kind of a craft but wasn’t sure what.  I think I figured it out…instead of buying that record player I’ve had my eye on (since all my albums are back “home” in my parents basement) I want a sewing machine.  I thought to myself, “Self, wouldn’t it be fun to make a crazy quilt?”  And because I’m excitable when I stumble upon a keen idea, “A big GAY crazy quilt?”  I can see it now.  Yellow as the base colour, but use all the colours of the big gay rainbow.  Plus, because no crazy quilt would be complete without it, embroidery!  I could learn to embroider and put little gay things on it, like a rainbow flag, or a picket sign that says  “say no to h8” and such and such.  I told Cortejo my idea.  She said she wants it.  I’m not sure if she thought it was just me being drunk and silly, but she’s totally getting a gay quilt, like it or not.

Ilanikhan was kind enough to send me a bunch of information in an e-mail on how to embroider and what I will need.  So, I’m going to practice and make sure I can do it all first.  I am excited!  My favourite part of embroidery, at least when my step mom did it, was looking at all the colours of floss.  I know, I know…lame, right?  But they have it in every conceivable shade and hue known to man.  You can get metallic stuff (I hear it’s harder to work with) or multi-coloured floss.  Ultimately, I’d like to also learn how to incorporate beads into it.

This means I can also do SCA stuff, like my coat of arms.  Embroidering the eagle might be way easier than cutting it out and stitching it onto stuff.

I have to call Telus back…they still didn’t fix the incoming date on my text messaging.  It is not 2016.  Although, if it is, I look damn good for 31.

Busy weekend ahead.  I am going to see many people and do many things.  My life feels very full and I feel very happy.