Hypoglycemia Sucks

[Long suffering sigh]  My hypoglycemia is back with a vengeance.  I had been pretending that it wasn’t that bad because I feel like admitting it is a problem was akin to admitting that I was weak.  Well, weaker.  I’ve already got sleep issues, allergies, a little OCD at times and to top it all off, sugar hates me.  I had it under control for the last while, and the only time it reared it’s ugly little head was when I provoked the beast by gorging on sugar (usually when gaming).  The following day would leave me feeling like I went on a drinking bender.  I had only myself to blame for that, and since it only happened on a monthly basis (if that), it wasn’t so bad.

But after this weekend’s worst sugar crash on record (for me), I have been scared straight.  It is a problem again.  When I sugar crash my emotions are very intense and I can’t control them.  I get ragey or I get weepy (or both).  Stuff that wouldn’t bother me when I’m feeling human, does.  This weekend was the first time I was dizzy and lightheaded.  It also triggered an anxiety attack.  Blah.  It can also affect my sleep disorder, because you can crash during sleep.  That freakin’ sucks, let me tell you.

But I’m not going to do the foot-stomping temper tantrum and shout “It’s not fair” because fairs are for tourists.  That’s just life.

Doing a bit of research, I found a list of called “The Dirty Dozen” and it’s basically 12 foods that if you’re a hypoglycemic, you shouldn’t eat:

  1. French Fries and Chips. High in sodium and don’t have any enzymes.  They’re chock-ful of acrylimide, a cancer-causing agent.  Apparently there is more acrylimide in fries than what’s legal to be in a glass of water.  300 times more.
  2. Ice cream.
  3. Deep dish pizza. I’m not sure if it’s just this kind of pizza because of all the extra dough (made from white flour) or all pizza.  I’m going to say it’s just thick crusted pizza.  I’m not willing to give up all pizza.
  4. Sugary cereals. This is how I figured out that I was hypoglycemic in the first place.  Damn Fruitloops.
  5. Diet Pop. [Sob]  Increases sugar cravings.  Dammit.
  6. Pop.
  7. Decaffeinated coffee. [Or coffee at all] I didn’t know that decaf wasn’t good for hypoglycemics, but according to the article I read, it isn’t good for anyone because of the chemical solvent to remove the caffeine (and they don’t get it all).
  8. Fruit drinks. [Not to be confused with fruit JUICE]
  9. Alcohol.
  10. Donuts, cakes and cookies. [Sigh]
  11. White bread.
  12. White rice.

Other stuff that didn’t make the top 12 but shouldn’t be consumed include:

  • Highly processed meats.
  • Milk.
  • Fast food.
  • White pasta.
  • Fruit (for the first three weeks?).
  • Tea (anything that isn’t herbal).
  • Mayonnaise.
  • Ketchup.
  • Relish.
  • Bananas [Wail].
  • Grapes.
  • Processed Food.
  • Refined sugar (duh).

Emergency foods are pretty obvious, stuff like a spoonful of honey or jam, raisins, a cup of fat free milk, regular pop, a sugar cube, Lifesavers and the glucose tabs (which I already carry).  All this stuff is quickly absorbed into the blood stream.  It also means that I can’t have this stuff when I’m not sugar crashing.

I need to exercise a bit more, too.  That is supposed to help.

Looking at the list of stuff that I’m supposed to eat, I see that I’m going to be a bit of a veggie-head.  That’s okay, that just means I’ll be eating healthier.  If anything, this is going to force me to get healthier.

[Deep breath]

Okay, so here’s the deal.  I’m going to give up caffeine after I finish the two cases of Pepsi Max in the fridge.  Once that stuff is gone, I’m going to see how I do without the pop, and without the coffee.  I’m going to give up a majority of prepackaged stuff (I may still keep eating soups and stuff because I can’t cook well enough to make my own).  I’m going back to not eating white bread.  I’m not sure about the fruit.  I need that stuff to not get scurvy (or go back to bruising easily).

I’m going to get this back to an acceptable level.

If I become some kind of ogre once I stop drinking pop and coffee, I apologize in advance.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. john
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 08:47:23

    You might want to check and see if that list is for reactive or fasting hypoglycemia. There are different reactions. Also, There are other ways of decaffinating coffee that you can look into.

    Reply

    • vongaynip
      Apr 12, 2010 @ 08:59:17

      It was billed as a list of foods that all hypoglycemics should avoid. When I was struggling with my hypoglycemia a few years ago/changed my eating for my weight loss program, I didn’t eat *most* of these foods and got myself under control.

      That having been said I’ll dig a little deeper and compare the lists. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

