Where Gaynip Speaks of Cake

I am having a most lovely chat with Pezchica tonight about certain lifestyle “choices” and the expression about having one’s cake and eating it too came up.  I think that expression should change.

Who is buying cake, cutting it up, having it but not eating it?  Pezchica says that it means that the cake is really beautiful and then you eat it all and can’t oooh and ahhh over it (but with this expression you can do both?).  I’m sorry, I don’t weep for beautiful cakes.  I weep when delicious cakes have been consumed and there is none left for further consumption.

The expression should be, “Have your cake and eat it.  If you want more, have some and don’t feel guilty about it.”  Oh sure, it’s not as succinct, but that’s besides the point.

P:  My friend made a raw cake sugar free with mostly almond meal for her 5-year-old son’s birthday

G:  I don’t want to be mean, but…that sounds like doody compared to a pound cake with real butter icing.

P:  I thought so too.

Now I want cake and can’t have any.  When I am Queen of the World, hypoglycemia will cease to exist.

“Sugar for everyone!”

“Boo!”

“Sugar for no one!”

“Boo!”

“…Sugar for some…miniature flags for others.”

“YAY!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pezchica
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 06:16:53

    my own tag!!

    Reply

  2. john
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 09:08:26

    Petey: You wanted to have your cake and eat it too.
    Captain Tagon: Well, yeah. Because that’s what cake is for.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

