#49 of 101 in 1001: 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?  5.
  2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?  Never trying is always worse.  At least when you fail, you have an opportunity to learn from your mistakes and try again.
  3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?  I think we do things we don’t like because they become necessary evils (like work, paying the bills, etc).  Or we feel obligated to do them because of our relationships with other people.  As far as the things we like that we don’t do…there always seems to be something else we “ought” to be doing.  Then there’s factors like time, money, other commitments, feasibility and so on.
  4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?  Probably.  Lucky for me there is still plenty of time to change this.
  5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?  I’d like people to be more open-minded and accepting of those deemed to be “different” or not fitting the definition of “normal”.
  6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you richTeaching.  Or being an historian.  Or what I’m doing now (different format, clearly).
  7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?  I’m doing what I believe in (lifestyle wise).  Work wise, it’s a mixture of both.
  8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?  I’d be more giving, I’d give up naps (no matter how tired I was), and I’d make sure that I got something out of every single day.
  9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?  That’s a tough question.  I think until a few years ago I was doing very little living for myself.  I worked hard for things because it was expected for me.  My choice of post-secondary was  up to me (although my major changed part way through year 1) and taking all my radio jobs was my choice as well.  But all the stuff in between work…very little of that had to do with me.  I lived up to other people’s expectations.  Any time I tried to be myself it would be quickly quashed.  I think in the last two years (and especially the last year) I have had significant control over who I am, my life, and what I am becoming.
  10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?  Doing the right thing.
  11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?  I’d speak up.  Defend my absent friend.
  12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?  Be yourself.  The people who really count for something will love you no matter what.
  13. Would you break the law to save a loved one?  Yes.
  14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?  I remember thinking Van Gogh was a crackpot and didn’t care for his art.  Then I saw “Starry Starry Night” and fell in love with his work.
  15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?  I make up sayings, sounds and catchphrases…and I make up conversations and scenarios (out loud) that never happened because I think it’s funny.
  16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?  That’s what makes us different and special.
  17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back?  I want to work in The City.  I suppose mostly I’m holding myself back.  Partly, though, it’s needing a job I’m qualified and skilled enough for.
  18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?  Yes.
  19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?  I think I would move to Germany.  My Mom’s family is from there, and I have an interest in going back and seeing it again.
  20. Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?  I have.  It doesn’t but it helps when you’re impatient and have all that extra energy.
  21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?  I think I’d rather be a worried genius.
  22. Why are you, you?  I don’t know.  I am what I am.
  23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?  Not always.  But I think lately I have been.
  24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?  Losing touch with someone nearby.
  25. What are you most grateful for?  That even though I complain about a lot of stuff, I have a roof over my head, food in my tummy, clothes on my back, a car to drive to see those I love, money to spend on silly stuff (like wood burning kits or tin whistles).
  26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?  I think I’d rather start over.  There’s lots I’d like to forget.  Some memories can be remade.
  27. Is is possible to know the truth without challenging it first?  No.
  28. Has your greatest fear ever come true?  Yes and no.
  29. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?  No.
  30. What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?  I really loved the trip across Canada I took with my Dad when I was 9.  We saw a lot of neat stuff along our travels and both of us still talk about the little moments…like the night he was snoring so loud he woke me up.  I couldn’t wake up him so I threw the tv remote at him and clipped him in the head with it.  I’m crying in the bed, sobbing about snoring like a bear…
  31. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?  My first kiss with a girl upon realizing I was gay.  It was thrilling.
  32. If not now, then when?  Tomorrow.
  33. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?  The ability to say “Look what I have done.”
  34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?  I have.  It happened a few months ago, actually.  It was when Cortejo and I were dating but not an item.  I had my head in her lap, and she was looking down at me, I up at her.  I think, in that particular moment, I knew I was in trouble.
  35. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?  Because they only love those who love what they love.
  36. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?  For everything?  No.
  37. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?  Yes, but so I might go back to school or try something else without the worry of bills to pay.
  38. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?  More work I enjoy.
  39. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?  No.
  40. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?  I think that’s all I’ve been doing lately.  Being myself has meant a lot of walking in the dark with the soft glow of an idea.
  41. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?  All of them.  I’d wear myself out doing it.
  42. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?  No.  I am happy with who I am.  Don’t like it, don’t f**k it.
  43. What is the difference between being alive and truly livingBeing alive means just going through the motions.  I think I exist somewhere between the two.
  44. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?  I’m not sure that I can put that moment into words.  It’s just a feeling that I get sometimes.
  45. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?  Just because you learn from your mistakes doesn’t mean it erases the problems they cause, the hurt or the consequences.
  46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?  I’d be completely out about exactly who I am.  And maybe never wear a bra again.  Haha.
  47. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?  Last Saturday morning.
  48. What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?  I love my friends, my pets, my work, learning and crafting.  My blog usually expresses these loves.
  49. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?  I tend to remember everything.  I might not remember tomorrow explicitly unless something happens today to cause me to commit that to memory (say someone I saw yesterday died before I saw them today).
  50. Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?  Both.
Leave a Reply

