I Hate You, Sugar

I was in the pantry cupboard not 10 minutes ago getting something to eat when I realized that I should probably go through some of that stuff and chuck it out.  Especially the box of “Sugar Crisp”.  For curiosity sake, I was looking at the ingredients and do you know that sugar is the main ingredient.

I know what you’re thinking, “It’s called Sugar Crisp.”  but I honestly thought that it would be ingredient #2.  I mean, the puffy wheat thing has to count for something right?  Wrong.  To my horror (I kept reading) there’s glucose syrup and honey in there too.  It’s just sugar coated honey and something that was once wheat dipped in syrup.  Goddammit.

Looking at the other cereals in there, even the ones that tote themselves as “healthy” or at least partly so, second ingredient is sugar.  Oh sure, whole wheat is first.  But sugar is number two on the list.  I didn’t read any further.

My Oatmeal Crisp cereal has 10 kinds of sugar in it.  Freakin’ sucks because a.) it tastes really good in yogurt and b.) I have 2 more boxes.

Anyone want some cereal? I don’t want to throw it out that would just be wasteful…but if you’ll eat it, lemme know.  I have 2 boxes of the Oatmeal Crisp and I think 1 (maybe 2) boxes of Frosted Flakes.  I really like cereal and it is incredibly disheartening to realize I can’t have any.  I mean, the cake and chocolate isn’t that big of a deal…but I love cereal.

I’m never going to be able to go a whole month without eating sugar.  Even when I think, “Huzzah sugar free!” it’s got a different name.  The spaghetti sauce has it, the PB has some derivitive of it, and a few of the soups too.  I’m scared to look in the freezer.  Frustrating.

Pretty sure my hypoglycemia is reactive but I really want to cut way back on the sugar that’s being sneaked into my food so when I have a crash maybe it won’t be so bad?

12 US companies are reducing salt in their products (like Heinz, Subway and Starbucks to name a few).  Now I’d like to see someone start reducing the sugar they’re putting in things.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cortejo
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 10:25:29

    We took bags and bags of “food” to a food bank drop off.

    Reply

  2. 1Dental
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 10:41:13

    Cortejo has the right idea. Donate it to a food bank and get it out of the house. The best way to reduce the sugar is cut off your supply as best you can. For your cereal love you could toast your own oats with cinnamon and splenda (if you can have splenda). That might be tasty?

    Reply

  3. pezchica
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 13:10:29

    Oh, there’s lot of cereal.

    Go buy yourself some oats and cook ’em. They nuke in about 2 minutes. Toss some maple syrup or maybe just some fruit purees and possible some nuts on? Good to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

