Pancakes!

Tonight I went out back to the grill and realized the coals had burned down.  I then realized that a trip to the store and back, plus letting the thing heat up and cook my supper was going to take another hour.  It was already 5ish.  Cortejo conceded that maybe I should give my tummy a break since I’m pretty sure I poisoned myself a little yesterday.  Stupid lighter fluid/coating they put on everything.  Pancakes it is!  High carb non-crashy ones, of course.

1 c. cream style cottage cheese
4 eggs
1/2 c. flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 c. oil
1/2 c. milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla

Whirl at high speed 1 minute. Bake on lightly greased griddle or waffle iron. Serves 3 as a main dish.

I used whole wheat flour and soy milk instead.  And I dunno, I bought cream style cottage cheese but I was expecting it to look more like yogurt.  It still had the chunks in it.

The mix

Looks kind of disgusting when you put it all together, but then I’m not accustomed to using whole wheat.

First pancake...

So it’s doing it’s thing in the pan, and looks like other pancakes at this point so I’m really excited the recipe is working out!  And as an added bonus, nothing had caught fire (yet).

EW!

This was the OTHER SIDE of the pancake.  See, this was the problem with not having creamy “cream style” cottage cheese.  Plus, I think with these pancakes you can’t have ’em thick as they tend to be a little on the wet side.  Live and learn.  I don’t have an electric beater anymore (no idea what happened to it in the move, possibly still in NB or I gave it away) but I do have one of those hand mixers.  I dug that out, cleaned it (I haven’t used it in 3 years!) and tried to break up the cottage cheese bits.  Nothing on fire.  Yet.

Final Product

These were the last 3 pancakes I made that turned out a lot better.  The mixer helped and using less batter/pancake did the trick.  Sadly, I had already eaten 2.5 pancakes and was too full to try another one.  I’ll have one of these for breakfast in the morning and let you know how it went.

All in all, I think it’s a decent recipe.  I’m sort of discouraged about the cheese lumps.  It was really liquidy mix but that could be because I used soy milk and I don’t find that has the same consistency as cow juice.  They also need something extra.  I ate mine with yogurt and honey.  But they weren’t…they were missing something.  Maybe if they had some fruit or something.  I wonder if I could dump in half a cup of apple sauce?  Or fruit mush (that’s a technical term by the way).  Sesame seeds?

I would give them another go, at least knowing what I now know about smaller amount of batter in the pan and the mixer…oh and lower heat.

Please to also report that nothing caught fire.  Yet.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tes
    May 20, 2010 @ 00:16:12

    I used to experiment the similar recipe but without cheese, it tasted quite good with the drizzle of honey. I would love to try with cheese like in your recipe… I’m pretty exciting about this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

