Eye Candy Friday: Sarah McLachlan

My choosing of this weeks Eye Candy had a fair bit to do with Sarah’s new album “Laws of Illusion” dropping on Tuesday of this week (release day).  I gave the disc a listen last night and I’m really enjoying it.  We’ve been doing heavy rotation of her first single “Loving You is Easy” and I predict that “Forgiveness” will be her next radio track.  I didn’t listen close enough to tell you the other 2, but I’ll come back to that.  She’s sold 40 million records world wide.

Other exciting stuff is, a few years ago Lilith Fair was touring (1997-1999) and it’s kicking off again this summer!  I hope they do another 2 year tour as it’s not in the budget for me to check it out this year.  The Fair is to promote women in music and was a huge success and saw her receive the The Elizabeth Cady Stanton Visionary Award (for advancing the the careers of women in music).  Sarah’s career accomplishments include an Order of Canada, an Order of British Colombia, nominated for 21 Juno’s and winning 8, Best Video for her ’92 vid for “Into the Fire”, Female Vocalist of the Year (1998), Song Writer of the Year (w/ Pierre Marchand), Single of the Year (“Building a Mystery”), International Achievement Award (2004), Pop Album of the Year (“Afterglow”), shared another Song Writer of the Year with Pierre (“Fallen”, “Stupid” and “World on Fire”).  She has 3 Grammy awards, Best Female Pop Performance (“Building a Mystery”) and again in ’98 for the live version of “I Will Remember You”.  She also scored for Best Pop Instrumental Hit for “Last Dance” (a favourite of mine, in which they employ the sound of a warbling saw).

If that doesn’t wow you, she’s been featured in Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly and Flair.  She performed at the Opening Ceremonies of the VanCity 2010 Olympic Games.  Her song “Building a Mystery” ranked 91 on VH1’s 100 Greatest Songs of the 90s.

Her charitable work includes donations to women’s shelters across Canada.  A spokeswoman for the BC SPCA (raising $30 million since 2006).  In 2005 she took part in a Tsunami Disaster Relief Telethon.  Created the Sarah McLachlan Musical Outreach Choir & Percussion Ensemble.  In 2005 she performed for Live 8, with Josh Groban.  Not impressed yet?  She took a $150,000 budget for her music video “World on Fire” and donated it to  War Child, Help the Aged, Engineers Without Boarders and CARE.  She proved that money isn’t everything and going on to be nominated for a Grammy for the video (costing only $15 to make).

When I think of what being a celebrity should be, I think of Sarah.  She is truly a beautiful human being.

Her album, “Rarities, B-Sides and Other Stuff” was the first CD I ever owned.  “Surfacing” was the first disc I ever bought with my own money.  As an angsty teen, I would lie on my bed in the dark and listen to Sarah McLachlan CD’s til my ears bled.  To this day, I’m still a huge fan.  Although, I tend to listen to her stuff with the lights on in a less emo-like fashion.

Leave a Reply

