Vacation: Day #4

Happy Canada Day, Eh!

I’m kinda bummed out that I’m over the halfway hump of my vacation without a whole lot to show for it.  Monday I spent getting sick and being depressed by hospital staffers.  I was already feeling sorry for myself when they asked me who my next of kin was in case of emergency and if that person was family (she isn’t).  Like a kick in the ass with a frozen boot.  Got me to thinking though, about if something bad happens, who would find out?  I should at the very least make a little word document about what to do in case I die or slip into some kind of sugar/allergy induced coma.

Tuesday was a lot better.  I got the meds into me and and felt pretty good.  Cortejo made me go find Office Mom (who was at the grocery store) and be checked out and cleared for travel.  I don’t really blame her for not trusting me.  I mean, I did promise to turn around if I felt dizzy and sick all of a sudden.  But you know how it is when you’re ill.  You don’t want to be with people but you don’t want to be alone either.  And it’s made worse by the fact I get petulant when I’m sick and missing the things (or people) I love.

I got to the city and it was a pretty laid back date, which was fine with me.  I was feeling a little tired and slow moving.  The pace was easy and I really enjoyed doing regular things with my girl.  I played with Lydia for a while.  That was kinda fun.  I don’t really know how to play little girl games (I didn’t even play them when I was one) but she seemed to have fun.  With my scratchy voice, I read her 3 stories.  Then it was grownup time and we watched True Blood episode 3.  What.  The.  Eff?  Seriously messed up ending.  There was snuggles and a massage and Cortejo read me some stuff from one of the “Straight Dope” books.  In the morning Lydia came in and tried to go back to sleep with us after Lynch had got her up.  This had him dragging both mother and daughter out of bed by their feet.  Comical.  I felt a little flush after my shower, but it passed before we left for Ninja Day Camp.

Then it was “grown-up” time with breakfast at a place where the Elvis club hangs out.  I whispered to Cortejo over my menu, “They do know he’s dead right?”  She whispered back, “He’s a vampire.”  <3  I love pop culture references.  We had a talk about important stuff and I learned something about myself (important because now I will force myself to work on it).  Then it was off to Michael’s Craft Store to get supplies for the Bunny Scouts.  I am sad I won’t be able to see it.  Hopefully she remembered to take a picture of the final product.  I like seeing what she comes up with craft wise.  I bought a bunch of stuff too.  I’m really keen to try out the new cross stitching stuff that will let me put stuff on shirts and hats and more.  If it works, I’ll be picking up more tomorrow or Saturday.  I’m trying to decide what I want to put on the shirts.  I may make one that says “Talk Nerdy to Me”.  I may put a skull on one or some zombie heads.  Too many choices.

Today I’m cleaning.  Sorta.  It’s really laid back.  I made a bunch of ringtones for the phone and still need to do a few more custom ones.  There are several people who either don’t have one or don’t have one that fits.  The bedroom is pretty much done, save a good vacuuming and floor washing.  The living room is tidied mostly.  The kitchen…well dishes need doing.  Litter box needs emptying.  And Pickles needs to have a bath cause her ass is nasty.  [Sigh]  You know the cat needs a diet when…

One of my goals for today was to get the bedroom into a recognizable state.  I cleaned up the laundry.  Cleared the bed.  I think the reason I don’t want to sleep in there (and haven’t since Cortejo was here) is because it underscores how lonely this place makes me feel.  When I’m in the city, I’m surrounded by people.  The Lynch Mob & The Extended Family.  By Red and The Welshman.  Ilani.  Etc, etc, etc.  When I’m here, I’m alone.  I go to work, I am holed up in the studio and the office is dead.  I’m home and it’s the cats.

On a positive note, I did some reps on the weight bench now that I can see it and sit on it.  Nothing crazy.  A year ago I got tennis elbow being overzealous with the weights, so this time I’m taking it easy.  20 chest presses (I think that’s what they’re called?), 10 curls and 10 …somethings.  Behind the head, up and down.  Whatever that might be.  My arms need work.  I need work.  The whole package needs work.

In an hour or so, I’m going to pop in the car and head over to see Office Mom and Co. for Canada Day stuff.  Looking forward to some hangouts.  I stopped in yesterday on a whim.  Ended up playing some Scene It DVD: Deluxe 80’s Edition.  Man, there is some obscure 80’s shit out there.

Tomorrow will probably be more cleaning (floors and bathroom) and some crafting.  I am cat sitting for Ilanikhan and the cats are all locked up at the mo’.  So I’ll probably go in the evening.  Saturday is the Bacon Sprinkle Party at Lynch House with Reyl, Clinkerfiasco and Sugar Daddy.  There may or may not be LARP.  There may or may not be drag.  I’m looking forward to some time in the sun with friends.  Some silliness.  Some freedom.

I am thinking that Reyl and I should check out the cost for fabric to make Household banners at Pennsic.

Things to Do Before Tomorrow Night:

  • Pack clothes for 4.5 days
  • Swimsuit and towel…we’re hitting up the water park on Monday and it’s supposed to be 40 with the humidex.
  • HAT!!!
  • Sunscreen
  • ANTIBIOTICS
  • Cord and plug for both cellphone and mp3 player
  • Wash the cats ass
  • Take out garbage
  • Litterbox duty
  • Vacuum
  • Wash floors
  • Give spare keys to OM
  • Make schedule, dammit!
  • Writing (HA!)

I’m sure I’m forgetting something.  It’ll come to me.

Leave a Reply

